What is Halal?
Food and drink have direct effects on our physical and spiritual state. Islam has prohibited certain types of food and drink. The prohibition of these things is due to their impurity and harmfulness.
Summary of Dietary Regulations
The dietary regulations in Islam can be summarized as follows:
All things that Allah has created for humankind are permissible except what He has prohibited by an authentic and explicit text of the Qur’an and Hadith (sayings of the
Prophet Muhammad.) Accordingly, the sphere of prohibited thing is very limited in Islam. This principle of natural permissibility applies to all human actions, transactions
and behaviour with the exception of acts of worship which can only be done in the prescribed manner in accordance with the divine text
Animals permitted for human consumption under Islamic law include: cattle, sheep, goats, camels, deer, poultry, etc. Carnivorous animals and birds of prey are not permitted. Animals permitted for human consumption must be slaughtered in a certain manner.
Fish and seafood is Halal for Muslims
All vegetables are Halal and therefore vegetarian food is acceptable to Muslims if it is free from alcohol and other Haram ingredients.
Basically four types of food have been deemed Haram ("unlawful") for Muslims in the Qur’an. These are:
- The flesh of a dead animal (carrion)
- Pig meat
- Meat from any animal on which the name of someone other than Allah was invoked when it was slaughtered.
Intoxicants of any kind (alcohol, drugs etc.) are prohibited for Muslims to consume, even in small quantities. Alcohol should not form part of the ingredients of any food prepared for Muslims.
By implication, any product derived from the above prohibited food and drinks or any food containing ingredients from them will also be unlawful(Haram).
Summary of conditions for Halal slaughter
Islamic law requires that animals intended for human consumption be slain in a certain
manner. The conditions for Halal slaughter can be summarized as follows:
Rule of Thumb
In Islam everything is permitted (Halal) for consumtion except “A B C D I S” which are prohibited (Haram).